My Grandmother

My Grandmother, my mother's mother, Sri Chandradewi was born in Indonesia. She was born and grew up in Tangerang, Indonesia.

She is the eldest daughter in her family so when she was younger, she was spoilt and sometimes favourited by her parents, she was also very responsible and had to take care of her younger siblings. She had 4 sisters and 2 brothers and later when she got married, she also had 5 daughters and 2 sons. As a child, her parents didn't record her birthday as they didn't think it was too important but she knew she was born in the year of the monkey. So when she was getting married, she made a birth certificate and her birthday was somewhat around 1st of January 1943. As a child, education was not considered important for girls so she only went to school for her primary years and learnt basics like reading and writing. After this, she did not receive further education and only learnt how to do housechores like cleaning, cooking, sewing etc. She was taught to mainly stay in the house and she didn't go places very often so she didn't know much about the news and other things. Her hobbies included cooking and taking walks. My grandma used to fly in from Indonesia to visit us in New Zealand but in 2014 she applied for a permanent residence and she now lives in New Zealand with us. The living conditions here were definitely different from Indonesia especially the weather. Indonesia has a humid and very hot environment while New Zealand can get very cold in the winter, so my Grandmother had to adjust to the chilly weather.

"Life has definitely changed for me. The world is more advanced especially since technology was introduced, there were no radios or television when I was younger. Society is also different, when I was younger I even experienced a civil war in Indonesia."