My Mother

My mother is Srijati Soebajoedinata, also known as Yen for short.
She was born on the 29th of May 1968 in Indonesia and she grew up in Tangerang, Jakarta on Java Island of Indonesia. She belongs to a family of 9 with 4 sisters, 2 brothers, her parents and herself. Growing up, her family didn't have a lot of money but they made the most of everything. Her parents had a small grocery store and my mum and her siblings would often help run it or take care of each other as their parents were usually busy. She would visit her grandparents every now and then as well. When she was younger, she spent her time reading books and she loved to travel, especially as she got older and she was able to go to more places. She also would spend time with her siblings. One event from her childhood was a parade she took part in with other kids and they dressed up in traditional Indonesian clothing. Her childhood and teen years were more happy and care-free but from her teen years, life got more difficult because her family’s financial situation was quite bad from her parents’ low income and also the fact that they had to raise 7 kids and provide enough food and an education for all of them. My mother was brought up in a Buddhist household but eventually she became Catholic. She flew from Indonesia, on a plane, to New Zealand in 2001. She wanted to have a new start in a new better environment so she came to New Zealand by herself. At first, it took a while to settle in and she had to get used to the customs around here and the language. But she met some new and old friends and her life in New Zealand began.

"Everything is different because there was no internet before. I only had a radio and TV when I was already a young adult. If we wanted to know something we had to ask, read etc. but now we can just use google. Before, we spent more time outdoors. Now we have more options for everything now."


(Image) My Mother's family before her youngest sister was born. She is on the right hand side of the table.